Skip to content

David Brooks’s New Humanism

March 12, 2011

David Brooks

I find it ironic that the reason I haven’t had time to write my initial post about education (almost two weeks into the month!!!) is that my own education has been keeping me occupied, specifically my professors’ need to make sure I learned something this quarter. I think I’ve written more in the past two weeks than in the past two years combined. Anyways…that’s over now pretty much. I’ve been storing all the cool stuff about education that I’ve found so far for when I finally finish that post. This, however, I realized this morning, is totally stupid. So without further ado, I correct my folly with this really incredible piece by David Brooks for the New York Times. I loved this column, and it felt very relevant to my own education. I was lucky enough to have teachers and professors who cared less about SAT scores and more about building character. How cool would it be for us to measure our kids not by intelligence as quantified by some standardized test based on reading, writing, and mathematics, but rather by measures of empathy and equipoise as Brooks describes them?

This column really resonated with people I think and it led the most emailed list on nytimes.com for a couple days. So go check it out and find out why.

One Comment leave one →
  1. squirebrown permalink
    March 12, 2011 3:58 pm

    “You pay less attention to how people analyze the world but more to how they perceive and organize it in their minds.” that’s what i’m talking bout. personal geographies. boom.

Leave a Reply

